1/10 Ruckus 2wd

bbbv4711

I am new to the hobby, so sorry for the long post. I bought my son a Traxxas 2wd Stampede VXL, to be able to have father/son time I decided to get a Ruckus 2wd. The Ruckus is the brushed with lipo, I knew I would be upgrading as things broke. 1st was the driveshafts upgraded to Hot Racing SECT288x06, then I picked up a venom 25C 2S 5000mAh. The next run I smoked the ESC/Motor. So I picked up a metal gear set and Hot Racing steel spur gear(48P 87T) and Maclan diamondback 80a esc/MX540 4000kv combo. I believe the original pinion it 17t, which I am using with the new setup.
After searching this site and watching videos I changed the gears and installed the esc/motor combo. 1st run was not impressed, seems like slipper was too loose so I tightened 1/2 a turn. This was better, but maybe just a little better than the stock brushed setup. I do know I need to buy a programmer for the ESC, apparently it comes new with reverse locked out.
Any suggestions or comments to get the most out of the esc/motor setup? Also what does the numbers represent on gears? Like the spur is 48P 87T, I assume the 87T is teeth what is the 48P?

48P is the gear pitch, indicating how close the teeth are together. It has to match the pinion obviously. With a steel spur you shouldn't have any problems; some people upgrade to a 32P plastic setup instead when they ruin the spur. Smaller pitch = less teeth = bigger, sturdier teeth.

I don't know your specific motor, but I think it should have a lot more torque than the stock brushed motor, so you could change to a larger pinion and it should give you more top end and still accelerate well enough. Only one way to find out :) Keep an eye on motor temps though. An IR temp gun is like $12, cheap insurance. Hottest temps for me are when running in tall grass.