Battery and Charger Upgrades and basics?

Tyork_tex

Okay guys second thread here, I still haven't gotten around to doing an intro.

I've searched the internet and still can't get any definitive answers. I want to upgrade my battery with an emphasis on run time over power, and kind of a short education on batteries and chargers in general.

1. Would it be worth it to go Lipo or stick with NiMh?
2. Will my factory motor/electronics handle an upgrade?
3. What kind of charge/run times can I expect?
4. What does 2s 3s etc. mean?

If yall don't mind include recomendations as far as brand and size battery and charger.
Also I want something small enough to stick on my front servo for better weight distribution and a lower COG if that's at all possible. I've seen it done on Losis and they say it makes a big difference. Thanx!

Well i dont know to much as im still new to the rc game but from what i understand and have experianced is lipos give you more power and better run time. But as far as being compatible with stock electronics i think you should be fine. A guy in the temper section ran the 2s on the stock and said it worked fine.

@Tyork_tex - what ECX RC do you currently have?

In a nut shell:
  1. Pending if your ECX supports LiPo, then yes it's certainly worth the upgrade.
  2. Some ECX models do, others do not... what do you have now? ;)
  3. Depends on how much money you want to spend. Higher capacity (larger Mah rating) offers longer run time, but costs more.
  4. The more cells the more voltage, 2s is going to be 7.4volts, whereas 3s is 11.1 volts. Be careful with 3s as the extra voltage is known for breaking more things.

I just picked up a Temper. I think I'm going to go Lipo but I may have to wait til after Christmas. Will I have to put a low voltage cut off on board? I've read that lipos don't like going below a certain voltage.