ECX AMP MT battery?

Ivanf89

Sup yall, I just got my 1st RC I went with the ecx amp mt (the green one), I'm looking to upgrade my battery without upgrading any other part, what battery do you recomend? FYI I'm totally new to this and dont know anything about RCs I'm learning as I go.

I'd look at SMC. THIS ONE is a great battery for the price since it is on sale.

If you are staying stock otherwise, just select EC3 as the connector.

Hang on a sec... Looks like X recommended a LiPo battery (lithium polymer) and the ECX AMP does not have an electronic speed control (ESC) that provides low-voltage cut-off protection. LiPo batteries are great: lighter, higher-energy density (more powerful, lasts longer), and they rarely get hot with use so after runnining you can immediately put them back on a charger. However, they require more attention and care than the NiMh (Nickel Metal Hydride) battery pack that came with the AMP. The trade off is that NiMh batteries are heavier and have a lower-energy density and have a higher internal resistance (they don't last as long, and heat up quickly requiring them to cool down before you can recharge them).

If you run a LiPo battery below a certain voltage (approximately 2.8V per cell or 5.6V for the pack) you will ruin the battery for ever and possibly cause it to combust (burst into flame) if you attempt to re-charge it. NiMh batteries can be run completely flat without issue.

To prevent this your car needs either a "LiPo compatible" ESC (this means that the ESC features a voltage monitor that will stop the car once the battery reaches its low-voltage threshold), or a Low Voltage Alarm which is a little gizmo that plugs into the balance lead of the LiPo battery and will sound a LOUD alarm once the pack reaches a pre-determined low-voltage. This lets you know it's time to stop driving the car.

The ECX AMP cars DO NOT feature ESCs that are "LiPo compatible" so you will need to buy a LVC alarm such as the one below.