Need help repairing my ECX 1/10 Torment 2WD

RonBurgandy

Hey guys, it's my first time posting here so hopefully I am not breakin any rules.

I got a Horizon ECX 1/10 Torment 2WD for Christmas today (it's my first RC car). I managed to get 10 minutes of driving in before I wrecked it. I hit a curb with one of my front wheels going full speed and managed to break off a steering linkage part.

After referencing the parts diagram in my manual, it seems as if I broke a part that's referred to as a "servo savor". I found the part in question online, and it seems to be a cheap fix.

My question is how to remove a screw from the skid plate so I can access the broken part. There is one screw that doesn't want to come out and only turns in place when I try to unscrew it. It seems to be holding all the steering links from the servo together (as Shown in the picture). Is there some sort of trick to getting this screw out? I don't want to strip it, as it's pretty hard to even get it to turn in its place.

I am posting from mobile, so let me know the picture isn't working! Thanks!

Here's the links to the pictures:

http://imgur.com/a/TKmNS

The post that the fastener threads into is likely spinning as well. You'll have to secure that post, prior to turning the screw. Really, if you aren't familiar with the vehicle, take it all the way apart and put it back together. It sounds intimidating but it really is fun and will familiarize you with the workings of your vehicle.