Problem with brand new AMP

Red13

Hello everyone. I just bought a new AMP and joined this forum today. I bought it so my nephew (7 years old) can drive it when I take him to the park so we can both drive our cars. After about five minutes of using the truck, the power almost died. I thought it was the battery, running a NIMH 3200 MAH so I put in a new battery but it was still the same problem. The steering would barely turn and the wheels moved very slowly. Any idea what it could be? I am thinking the ESC. I am new to RC so still learning. If it is the ESC I think I might as well change out all the electronics and go brushless, but that might be to fast for my nephew.

Also am interested in getting a metal gear servo. Any recommendations on any that are direct fit or don't require any or much modifications. I bought the RPM but have not installed it yet. Thanks in advance for any help given.

Check and set your gear mesh properly. When you disengage the pinion gear check that the drivetrain moves freely. Recalibrate your ESC.

It’s new, so if something is wrong take it to the shop where you bought it and have them sort it out.

Red13, I would go with the Savox servo that's what in my Amp. Also would recommend replacing the servo saver. I just changed mine out with the Hot Racing ECT 4806 all ball bearing servo saver. Both improves the steering 100%. Also no more wheel wobble while in reverse.

Attachments

• 20201110_201014.jpg
    20201110_201014.jpg
    174.7 KB · Views: 6
  • 20201110_200044.jpg
    20201110_200044.jpg
    175.3 KB · Views: 6
  • ECT4806_grande.jpg
    ECT4806_grande.jpg
    10.8 KB · Views: 6
Savoy are expensive. I have great results with a $15 KS-3518 from Banggood. Fast, metal grates, 18kg, and cheap as chips.

I paid $60 new for the Savox Digital SA-1256 servo on eBay. Have seen them as high as $80. It's a great servo and has Titanium gearing and 20 kg. The steering is so positive its phenomenal.