Replacing ECX31006

Mattchall

I'm a newbie to this so maybe I'm missing something but I believe I need to replace the ECX31006 on my ECX AMP MT. My son took it to the skate park and had an epic fail that resulted in a 10ft drop landing directly on the motor which is now making a grinding noise... a replacement has been ordered. What I'm wondering now is if my ESC is bad as well. Steering works but forward and back do nothing, no motor noise or movement. If I hook the motor up directly to a battery it spins.

More details... the unit was able to drive a bit after the damage but not for long. When he powered the car up it would make the typical beeps and sync to the remote, eventually the beeps became fainter and eventually it made no noise when powering on. Like I said I'm new here, any advice would be greatly appreciatted. From what I've read about the ECX31006 ESC it's not well liked and prone to failure, what are my other options that I could use without upgrading the controller? Thanks! Matt

I think you mean 13006. Your options are below.
  1. Get another 13006.
  2. Buy ECX 13003 receiver, this works with the stock transmitter. Buy whichever ESC you like (e.g. Hobbywing 1060, ebay special).
  3. Buy a new complete radio system (transmitter and receiver), e.g. FlySky GT3C. Buy whichever ESC you like.
1 and 2 answer your question, but you should also consider option 3 as the 13003 receiver is somewhat pricey for what it is.

I think you mean 13006. Your options are below.
1) Get another 13006.
2) Buy ECX 13003 receiver, this works with the stock transmitter. Buy whichever ESC you like (e.g. Hobbywing 1060, ebay special).
3) Buy a new complete radio system (transmitter and receiver), e.g. FlySky GT3C. Buy whichever ESC you like.

1 and 2 answer your question, but you should also consider option 3 as the 13003 receiver is somewhat pricey for what it is.
Thanks Man! Would the receiver below work with the existing transmitter?