Torment 4x4 Motor replacement issues

fdb16

Hello Everyone, I am new to the modern RC world and purchased my son the Torment 4x4 last year for his birthday. The motor burnt out and I bought a replacement, the new one is 12t vs 15t which was in there. The salesman said it did not make a difference, this one would be a little faster. This is the ARRMA 550 12T brushed motor. Anyway, I was looking online for videos to make sure I didn't miss anything swapping them out but it appears mine is different than most as all the videos show the wheels had to be taken off and the motor was held in a housing, this is not the case on mine. I assume this is a cheaper or diff model (4x4 vs not maybe?). Anyway I pulled the old motor trying my best to note placement, etc. Now when we run the vehicle after a short while the motor will just spin. I assumed the pinion gear backed off the drive gear(?) not sure of terminology, so I matched them up and it ran again but every time it starts doing it again. Am I missing something? I am not sure what I am doing wrong here. Any advice would be appreciated!

Welcome to the forums @fdb16 !
The 4x4 version of the Torment is a mid motor mounted configuration, meaning the transmission and motor are mounted inside the chassis. The 2wd version the motor is mounted to the transmission on the rear of the car. That is why they are different, I assume that is what you meant? Taking the wheels and tires off on a 2wd version does make it a lot easier to mount a motor properly.

Yes it does sound like the pinion is coming loose. Try a spot of locktite on the pinions set screw. Also make sure you are tightening the set screw on the flat spot on the motor shaft.

ecx03043_4.jpg

Welcome to the forums @fdb16 !