Upgrades for my ECX AMP MT

Engin33r

Hi Guys, I'm quite new to the RC scene.

Last year I picked up my first RC car. I was set on a un-assembled kit and initially I wanted a Nitro kit car but couldn't find anything that was within my budget and still decent quality, I then started to look at the electric cars and found ECX offerings and decided on the AMP MT.

I'm very happy with it and can't complain with the quality. I haven't had any issues with it but I am now looking at upgrading the electronics to get more out of it.

Below is a list of the things I believe I need to upgrade, If you have any suggestions for specific parts that are not too expensive that would be appreciated (Also i'm in the UK).

Motor / ESC - I'm looking for a brushless motor / esc combo or separate if not too expensive.

Transmitter / Receiver - I'll probably see if I can get this from a local model shop.

Battery / Charger - I will hopefully be able to continue to run the above upgrades with my existing Nimh batteries before upgrading to a 2s Lipo

Gears - I will swap out the pinion and differential as and when needed with the metal set (ECX9001)

As I wouldn't say i'm running it hard I wont initially look into upgrading any of the plastic parts unless I suffer any breakages then I may replace with the aluminium counterparts. Are upgrade parts still widely available? Do you know of any news on discontinuing any parts?

Below are some pics of my stock build.

Thanks

Welcome! Your plan for upgrades appears to be sound. I will comment on a couple of points, however. Yes, your existing NiMh batteries will work just fine with a brushless power system-- the electronics don't really care where their electrons are coming from. :) That said, a LiPo will provide a noticeable boost to performance both in acceleration and run-time.