Why buy an AMP instead of a Ruckus?

BookBoy

Hi all,

I’m completely new to this world (if you don’t count the Tamiya Fox in my garage that hasn’t run for over 20 years) and thinking about getting an RC truck for my 9 year old son for Christmas. Maybe one for myself too, so we can double the fun.

I looked at the AMP which is what my local hobby shop recommended for $250 here in Australia. He pointed out the charger is a slow charger so we’d want to look at a better one for around $50. Also an extra battery for about another $50. I’m presuming I may be able to do cheaper online once I know what I’m looking for.

However, I notice the brushed Ruckus sells for $300 with LiPo and 2hr charger. So I could get a Ruckus with LiPo including fast charger for around the same price as an AMP plus fast charger.

Why not just go for the Ruckus? Am I missing something here?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks :)

Different style of car and chassis, but yeah, in your case the Ruckus (or another 2WD model that comes with lipos and a "decent" charger like the Torment or Circuit) makes more sense at this price.

I don't know much about the Amp, but I love my Ruckus. My understanding is the Ruckus is bigger than the Amp. I have already upgraded to a brushless motor and speed control and higher capacity lipo batteries.

The Amp comes with an all-in-one speed controller and receiver. That means it requires purchasing both a speed controller and receiver in order to upgrade.

Last edited:
I have both. The Ruckus is much bigger, has a very high center of gravity, so it's less "competitive" but better offroad.
The Amp comes also as a kit though, and that's great for kids who like to build things, plus you get to choose the color when you paint it.

Thanks for all the feedback folks. I don’t see this truck being raced, it’s just to play around with on a mix of gravel, grass, dirt, and sealed car parks.