Getting an Amp to 30 MPH and A Few Other Basic Questions

RC_Noob

@RC_Noob here and as my name suggests I'm new to the RC Hobby.

I got my Amp earlier this week, what a fun little car. I almost went for Traxxas Stampede but I watched a number of YT vids and it seemed a little unstable compared with the Amp. The Amp was also cheaper and I want to get one for my 9 year old sons birthday next week and I'd like us to have the same car.

Being new to the hobby I'm going to go slow and steady on the upgrades and not rush straight into brushless and end up frying the ESC and stripping the gears. However I do want is to eek a little more speed out of the Amp and would really like to initially get it matching the advertised 30+ mph speed of the Stampede. From reading other posts here where I see folks talking about 60 and even a 100+ mph speeds being achieved so 30 mph seems like it should be easily doable.

So what's the best way to get there for a noob like me?

Obviously LiPo batteries are the starting point; I should already be set up for that but the battery I was delivered was faulty (bad start right from the get go) and I'm waiting for the replacement to arrive. One thing I did notice is that I can't find a LiPo that will fit under the battery holder as they are all around 25mm in height. Are you guys using straps to keep it in place or using some other solution? I can't see how I could get a strap to work as the ESC is completely blocking one of the holes it would loop through.

Next I was thinking about a 15T or 12T brushed motor. I'd like one that will work with the stock RX/ESC combo at this stage. I read else where on this forum that the stock ESC shouldn't be used with a motor lower than 15T, is that true? Any recommendations for fast 15T motors that would drop straight into the Amp with no modifications?