I'm sure it's been asked many times....

HondaRacer

Hey guys. Newbie here, I need some help.

So my 10 year old son saved and saved and bought himself a 1/10 Ruckus 2WD with a brushed motor. His first good RC car. It ran great and we were impressed. We broke it in properly and we're using the original 1800 mah battery along with a 3300 he bought.

Fast forward 6 months... after breaking off the wires where they solder to the motor lugs we removed the magnets. I've soldered both wires on a few times. Our latest problem is that the car runs at only about half speed and for a short time before it slows to a stop. The first time it did this we could smell the motor running very hot every time the car passed us. I've learned how to reset the transmitter travel limits so I think it's getting full throttle from the tx.

This car has very few hours on it and we take good care of the batteries. Could it be the motor needs replacing? How can I test the battery, ESC or motor with a VO meter to confirm what the problem is? The only other info I can provide is that he likes driving it thru the water and got it into some sandy mud one day, so that definitely could have gotten into the motor a bit.
I have not taken it apart but can do so for photos, tests, etc.

It runs now, but slow. Thanks!

You can test the battery with a simple multimeter. Check the fully charged voltage and the end of run voltage. You can check the motor by hooking it up straight to the battery on a medium to full charge. Be sure the wheels are off the deck first.

It's possible the battery and/or motor are dying. If you go lipo be sure to get a lipo charger that has balance capabilities. For a new motor, similar would be easiest. No need to turn him loose with a $100+ brushless setup just yet.

First i would grab yourself a new brushed motor. Keep to around 15T or if you can find one drop a bit lower for more top end. Should be a cheap easy fix.