Sort of a newbie here with a charger question.....

skipsmith

Santa got my 10 year old son an AMP Monster Truck Kit for Christmas. I had R/C's way back in the late '80's (The Hornet and The Grasshopper by Tamiya). My question is, after the first initial charge to the battery (9 hours is what the instructions showed) what is the charging time after that? The charger doesn't have and LED's or a timer or anything to let you know when it is charged. Thanks for any responses and I am excited to get back into the hobby with my son.

Last edited:
Santa got my 10 year old son an AMP Monster Truck Kit for Christmas. I had R/C's way back in the late '80's (The Hornet and The Grasshopper by Tamiya). My question is, after the first initial charge to the battery (9 hours is what the instructions showed) what is the charging time after that? The charger doesn't have and LED's or a timer or anything to let you know when it is charged. Thanks for any responses and I am excited to get back into the hobby with my son.

It will take about that long every time if you run it to near dead. It's definitely worth the cost of a better charger. I got a Venom Sport ac charger for I believe $34.99 that can charge both Nimh and LiPo batteries in around 2 hours. It's been keeping up with all 3 trucks at my house no problem. I'd highly recommend it.

@MnWade is correct. If you ever want to calculate charge times, assuming running until dead, divide your capacity of the battery by the output of your charger.

So, for your Amp:

1800mAh capacity / 200mA output = 9 hours

It will take about that long every time if you run it to near dead. It's definitely worth the cost of a better charger. I got a Venom Sport ac charger for I believe $34.99 that can charge both NiMH and LiPo batteries in around 2 hours. It's been keeping up with all 3 trucks at my house no problem. I'd highly recommend it.