AMP MT a fun kit to build, battery question

Zenton

Hi

I've recently finished building the AMP MT kit. I've never built a kit before as in the past I've always built RTR but they often break and I've been left wondering how to fix them.

The kit was to my surprise, really fun to make and I've learnt so much about RC cars just by following the very simple instructions. My young son loves racing the truck as much as myself!

I've tried to find the answers to two questions re upgrading batteries but I don't want to buy then wrong type or size.

1. What would be a good upgraded Nimh battery for the AMP MT?
2. What would be a good 2s Lipo?

Any links or exact descriptions would be much appreciated thanks

IMG_2925_zpsz0bnqqod.jpg

Haha, Paddington Bear.

Welcome to the site @Zenton!

I don't want to tell you how to proceed, but I would recommend not bothering with another nimh battery. There is no benefit. Go to a 2s lipo and gain power and length of usable power.

I would recommend this:
upload_2017-2-14_8-56-55.png
https://www.venompower.com/collecti...00mah-LiPo-battery-with-universal-plug-system

Also remember to run a low voltage alarm, as the stock Amp setup does not have one. Something like this:

upload_2017-2-14_8-58-21.png
https://www.venompower.com/products/venom-low-voltage-monitor-for-2s-to-8s-LiPo-batteries

+1 to that. I have an AMP (now converted to a Circuit) and have two Venom 4000mAh batteries and the venom LVM. The higher discharge rate of the LiPos really wakes up the AMP and deliver run times of about 45 minutes!

If you do get a LiPo battery, you will need a battery that can specifically charge LiPo batteries. I highly recommend the Hitec X1 Mini.

Thanks for the advice guys. I've got an upgraded Traxxas Bandit which has sat untouched as it looks to good to get dirty <pointless I know> so I've found a 2s Lipo battery and I've got a good charger too. The low voltage meter has arrived so I'm going to give it to my son to play with this weekend.