Battery upgrade choice questions

Jmiller83

I'm new to rc and have an Amp 1/10 mt and wanted to know what all I would need to be able to use a lipo battery setup. If anyone could help me out I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks

1. The lipo battery itself ($15-$60 depending on type and brand)
2. A suitable charger for lipo batteries ($40-$120 depending on features and power)
3. A low voltage alarm (<$5)
4. A set of connectors to solder on to the battery or the ESC, and the charge lead of your charger (if required).

If you don't own a soldering iron, you might want to either involve your local hobby shop for sorting out the connectors, buy a battery and charger with EC3 leads (this limits you pretty much to Horizon brands and you'll pay somewhat extra), or get conversion leads (but these are often quite dodgy).

If you don't own a soldering iron, you might want to either involve your local hobby shop for sorting out the connectors, buy a battery and charger with EC3 leads (this limits you pretty much to Horizon brands and you'll pay somewhat extra), or get conversion leads (but these are often quite dodgy).

Not true. While they may cost a little extra, I have never had issues with Venom's connectors. If you want to use a battery for multiple applications and you haven't swapped everything to the same connector, it's the best way to go!

@Jmiller83, welcome to the site!

I didn't think of the venom batteries with their converter plugs, that'd be a good choice indeed.

I have some conversion leads out of nondescript blister packs at the LHS and all of them are poor quality (the connectors don't grip tightly).

I'd agree with @xlDooM for the simple fact that I myself don't like the idea of having to use adapters. While they probably work fine I'd rather just use one type of connector across all my RC's - doesn't matter if it's Deans, EC3's or XT-90's just so long as it's the same across all my batteries and ESC's.