Huge throttle/reverse delay with Kinexsis motor/ESC (KXSS0500) and AMP DB

zarthsan

I'm relatively new to RC cars and have an AMP DB and an AMP MT. Recently, the MT's steering-servo crapped out, and, while I was repairing that, I decided to upgrade the ECS/Motor to one that could naively support LiPO without the need for a Low-voltage-alarm.

$120 later, I had the titanium servo, the KXSS0500 motor/ECS combo, and the ECX13003 receiver.

This is the first ESC install/calibration/pairing I've done, I so googled around and followed the instructions. After I got it working, the results I've had are far less than stellar.

Problem:
When the car is not moving and I pull/push the trigger it's quick to take off, and when I hit the brake it's quick to stop, but that's it. When I want to go change directions I often need to push the trigger from neutral 4 or 5 times - sometimes taking a second or more before the wheels engage in the other direction.

This has made it completely impossible for me to take the truck over any jumps, because I'm totally unable to correct it's rotation in the air. It's also just annoying to drive now since when I run into something and come to a stop, it still takes several frustrated pushes of the trigger to go backwards.

The settings of the ECS are currently all default (settings shown in attached image), and the receiver/transmitter calibration worked (although it was a bit confusing).

Has anyone else experienced something like this? Is this to be expected when shifting from brushless to brushed? Is this a faulty ECS/motor, or just a piece of crap hardware? This was such a disappointing result after switching from the super-responsive motor the AMP came with.

Thank you so much for the help and all the expertise I've learned from while reading this forum.

KXSS0500-defaults.png