LiPo Noob - Need Some Help

RC_Noob

Hi Guys,

I'm a complete RC Noob and after a bit of research I just picked up an AMP to get into the hobby.

I decided to go for LiPo batteries and received a Prophet Sport Mini charger and a Reaction 30C 4000 mAh battery this afternoon along with the car.

I'm trying to charge the battery but the charger flashes an error, 1 blink per second to indicate a bad connection.

From what I can see I've connected everything correctly (pictures below). The balance cable is inserted into the 2S plug, the EC3 connectors are in the appropriate sockets,, it's set to 3A for a 3C charge battery etc etc..

When I put a multimeter to the battery terminals I can see it has around 5.4 volts of charge, and when connecting the low voltage alarm to the balance cable it gives me a reading across both cells. Though the alarm is sounding as cell 1 seems to have much more charge than cell 2 - is that normal or should they discharge equally?

My initial feeling is there is a problem with the charger, although it is working ok for the stock NiMH battery. Before I send it back, am I doing anything stupid?

Thanks

charging_1.jpg

charging_2.jpg

Welcome @RC_Noob!

Firstly, the charge rate does not depend on the C rating. It is the capacity that you should be looking at. Also, to a lesser degree, how fast the manufacturer recommends charging it. This is usually 1c (this time for capacity). In the case of your battery, that would be 1 x 4000mA (4A), thus a charge of 4A. That will charge your battery in about an hour if the battery was discharged to an appropriate level. Usually around 3.7-3.8V per cell.