Overheating motor on Torment - brushed 3S LiPo

Chuckstasy

Hi all,

I’m new to RC and have been experiencing massive motor overheating issues. I’ve done a fair bit of reading but can’t seem to resolve this problem.

It is a 2wd 1:10 Torment that I got for Christmas so it’s one of the later generations. The only modifications are:
- 3S LiPo 5400mah
- Hackmoto 23T V2 brushed motor

Running stock brushed Dynamite wp ESC which is 3S compatible

Driving it fairly hard for less than 5 mins with the throttle limiter at 75% and the motor is way too hot to touch for even 1 second. Tested from cold with the stock 19T pinion (stock 87T spur), as well as 17T, 22T and 24T. All super hot after 5 mins on hilly pavement. ESC is warm but not hot. I was very surprised that the it was getting this hot at only 75% throttle (approx only 8.3v to the motor, which is supposedly rated to 11.1v). I haven’t dared to try 100% throttle until I get this overheating addressed.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I’m really not wanting to scrap the whole lot and spend a heap of money on brushless.

Gear mesh is perfect. Everything is moving freely, no resistance on the drivetrain. Stock tyres.

Last edited:
Have you taken a temperature reading? Anything under 160 degrees farenheit is okay. You already checked all the normal things I would check first (binding in the drivetrain). Your esc is rated for 3s, but a 23t motor is a fairly slow motor for that much power. Try a smaller battery and see how that affects it.

Thanks for the quick response. From what I understand, higher voltage battery requires lower kv/more turns?

I’m really wanting to stick with the 3S to get more power. I did try a 13T Hackmoto motor but it overheated even more quickly (1-2mins 18T pinion). Using the stock 15T Dynamite at 75% throttle overheated but nowhere near as quickly (10 mins, 18T pinion)

Unfortunately no temp gun :(
I’m touching the end of the can, and can’t even hold my finger on for half a second.