Used a LiPo battery and now the Ruckus is dead

mhmyers

Grandpa (me) figured that a 7.2 v battery is the same regardless of the material. So I bought a LiPo 7.2v battery for my 10 year old grandson's Ruckus (original version from 5 years ago). It worked great, faster than ever. Now the red light on the chassis near the power button just beeps and flashes continuously until it just turns off. It will move forward a few feet, backward with great difficulty about a foot, then starts the red light flashing. Is there a way to fix this? If not, is there a RC car like this one that is 1/10 and does use a LiPo battery? Any suggestions are welcome; grandpa is not well-liked right now by my 5 year old granddaughter and 10 year old grandson. They broke the antenna on the control and I thought that they caused it to stop working but then I read the manual and it said "not for use with LiPo batteries"

I'm pretty new to this but I'll give this an attempted answer.
Does it do the same when you put in a NiMH battery?
Have you let it cool down and try again without the lipo?
Do you have the proper charger for the lipo battery?
It may be a battery issue where you drained the lipo too low and now its not charging.
You also may have fried the ESC. You can buy a new ESC if that is the case. I would suggest a visit to the local hobby shop for some diagnostics. If you are in the market for new ESC, I would look at the ESC/motor combo and buy a brushless one.

Hope that helps point you in the right direction