New Temper Owner

Phyzik

Hey guys, just purchased an ECX Temper this past Friday and have been tinkering around with it. Driftomatics video's helped me out a bit (subbed you Drifto). So far have done some of the easy mods until I get paid again this week, then it's on for some major mods...

So far, I switched the battery housing 180 Degrees (to get the battery more over the front wheels) and I also switched the transfer case around and had to reverse the throttle on the transmitter (to help with the crazy torque). Having done that I couldn't mount the ESC on the bottom of the battery plate (like I hoped, to lower the center of Gravity) so I instead mounted it on top of the front servo to increase weight in the front.

20160529_220952_1.jpg 20160529_221000_1.jpg

You can see where I removed the ESC (still need to clean that up). I've also removed the foam from the tires. Going to be upgrading the motor and going 4ws ASAP (probably this coming weekend). I've never done it before but I may try modifying the shocks to get a more flat stance as it seems to sit too high.... or maybe even getting some wheel spacers and going with 1.9 or maybe even 2.2 on the wheels if possible.

As far as other RC's.... I have an older Traxxas 4-tec (belt driven) and a Traxxas E-Revo 1/16th scale with a 1/12 scale brushless motor mounted on it running dual Lipo batteries.. Even with a wheelie bar the thing is still a bastard to control, WAY to much power, lol..... Does complete back flips from a stand still no problem. Haven't actually flagged it with a radar, but I'm sure it can run close to 100mph if not more, if I can just keep it under control. Might try working on the suspension and aerodynamics to achieve that just for kicks.

A bonus with having the ESC on the front servo is since I chopped up the body a bit, it is easly to hook up the battery, put the body on, and still easily turn on/off the vehicle even with the body on..

Last edited: