Torment 4wd upgrade question

crispy514

Hi all,

I just got a torment 4wd for my lads to play with (honestly i do let them use it occasionally! :D :D ) but the run time on stock brushed motor/nimh battery is pretty low (max 10 mins).

I'm a complete newbie coming back into the hobby after 24 yrs (still have a vintage tamiya hilux racer that can outpace the torment on a straight) so my questions are:-

What difference would keeping it stock and moving to 2s Lipo's make? faster speeds? longer run time?

Would moving to brushless be a better idea? if so would this :-
https://www.amazon.co.uk/GoolRC-393...&sr=1-1-fkmr0&keywords=goolrc+s3650+esc+combo
be a reasonable upgrade? I would like it to be faster but i'm not looking for silly speeds.
As i understand it the 4wd torent has metal gears so i'm presuming i wouldnt need to make any other upgrades?

Thanks

Going to a 2s LiPo will make a world of difference (both because of capacity difference and you see longer periods of peak power on a LiPo) in run times and a slight benefit to performance. Depending on the pack you buy and how you drive, you could see anywhere from a half hour to an hour. Most buy around a 5000mAh with atleast 20c, but preferably upwards of 35c.

Thanks for the response. So moving to a 2s lipo won't mean it runs slower than a 8.4v nimh battery?
Is it worth the upgrade to brushless?
I notice that the ruckus (pretty much the same parts) has a 4wd brushless version so I'm assuming it's just the motor and esc I'd need to upgrade. (and battery but this looks like a must do upgrade either way.)

Thanks again.

Hi all,

I just got a torment 4wd for my lads to play with (honestly i do let them use it occasionally! :D :D ) but the run time on stock brushed motor/NiMH battery is pretty low (max 10 mins).

I'm a complete newbie coming back into the hobby after 24 yrs (still have a vintage tamiya hilux racer that can outpace the torment on a straight) so my questions are:-